Kiss kiss fall in love!

Leave if you must, but hurry back, Princess.

The Host Club will be waiting.

Remember how I mentioned in my last post that all the best anime has cross-dressing? Well hold on to your bonnets, ’cause Bisco Hatori’s Ouran High School Host Club is filled with all kinds of gender-confusing fun!

Haruhi Fujioka is an underprivileged “commoner” who studied hard and therefore gained entrance to the exclusive Ouran High School. One day while looking for a quiet room in which to study, Haruhi accidentally walks into the Ouran Host Club and breaks a vase worth 8,000,000 yen. In order to pay back the club, Haruhi is drafted to join. Each member of the host club provides the ladies of Ouran High with a different stereotype to fawn over: Tamaki Suou is the club’s founder, president, and the host club’s “prince.” Kyoya Ootori is the “cool type,” the twins Hikaru and Kaoru Hitachiin are the “little devil” types, Takashi Morinozuka (“Mori” for short) is the “strong and silent type,” and Mitsukuni Haninozuka (aka “Honey”) is the boy Lolita. Haruhi works out well as the “natural type,” and the girls go wild for the new addition. However, at the end of the first episode, we discover that Haruhi is actually a girl!

If you're wondering which character I identify with, look no further than Honey-senpai and his love of cake.

Hijinks and shenanigans ensue as the host club attempts to keep Haruhi’s secret safe from the rest of the school. In the meantime, more than one member develops feelings for Haruhi, and there many comical and serious moments portraying how the characters adjust to these new feelings. This series pokes loving fun at shojo clichés and otaku culture while keeping you genuinely interested in the storyline and the welfare of the characters.

I know that my review can’t really do this wonderful series justice. To paraphrase an Amazon.com reviewer, I thought that it would be good, but I never expected it to be this good. I didn’t even find this anime on my own, it found me. I was searching for other anime online, and Ouran High School Host Club kept popping up as an option. Finally I succumbed and watched the first episode. I thought that it was cute, and I was delighted to hear my beloved J. Michael Tatum once more. However, after episode seven I was completely hooked. While I’ve only watched the anime at this point, I’m dying to read the continuation of the story in the manga.

Yet another thing Japan got right: host clubs.

This series has romance and comedy in spades, and is yet another example of the delights to be found in the reverse harem genre. Haruhi has a Daria-like quality that makes her instantly accessible, and watching her adventures with her new set of male friends is hilarious and completely engrossing. Check out the series on Funimation’s YouTube channel and see what I mean.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anna Rod
    Mar 03, 2012 @ 09:32:00

    KYOUYA IS MINE!!!!!!! *hiss*

    Reply

  2. Anna Rod
    Mar 03, 2012 @ 09:33:13

    Oh, i you love this, have you read the manga? I was a bit upset with the pairing but you’d probably love it

    Reply

    • Miss Pink
      Mar 03, 2012 @ 14:42:56

      Not yet, but I’m getting there! I just got the whole manga set for Xmas, and I can’t wait to read them all! And lol, you can have him, as long as I get Tamaki! 😉

      Reply

  3. Katie
    Apr 15, 2012 @ 16:47:41

    I love this anime! Not yet got the chance to read the Manga, but I LOVE Tamaki x Haruhi, =3

    Reply

    • Miss Pink
      Apr 15, 2012 @ 22:02:58

      The manga is next on my list to read, but I agree, I love Tamaki and Haruhi. Though really, I love all of the boys so much that I wouldn’t mind if she ends up with any of them! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

games21.com - Online games
All written words
© Miss Pink and Otaku Haiku 2011-2012
unless otherwise noted.
